Creating RawCAN Frames with MicroBasic Scripting

4 months 4 days ago #29535320 by alhaddad
Hello,
I'm new to CAN Bus and scripting and I collected a general idea about CAN Frames. But I still don't know how I shoud write a script for RawCAN Frames.
So lets say I wanna creat a 64-bits CAN message with a CAN ID and multiple signals/commands inside the Frame. In CAN Networking manual it's written in Transmitting Raw Frames that we write the Command CS to send CAN Frames (for example setcommand(_CS,3,5) etc...). So basically I want to send the command P to my motor to go to an absolute position and the command S for setting the motor speed. How can I write that in my script?
The same problem goes to checking and reading received Frames.
PS: My script is to be written so it can work without being connected with PC (via RS232 or USB).

I would much appreciate any help by an explanation or/and sample scripts (I didn't find a sample script with RawCAN)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

4 months 3 days ago - 4 months 3 days ago #29535323 by LROBBINS
Perhaps a couple examples will help.  These are from a pretty complex script that's part of a multi-node CANbus wheelchair control system.

With RawCAN you are responsible for defining almost all aspects of the message packet which contains an ID field and up to 8 bytes of data.  The basic CAN protocol says that the ID field should tell other nodes how to handle the message and you have 11 bits for doing that.  Roboteq by default uses the ID only for specifying "accept messages only from node n" or "accept messages from all nodes".  I configure the Roboteq to accept messages from all nodes to let me build an ID that gives me more flexibility in filtering messages. 

This requires some bit-manipulation to create the ID field.  In my system, the ID is divided into 3 sub-fields: